Opus Vocal Ensemble


Founded in 1977, the multiple competition-winning Snowdrop Ensemble was active until the end of 2012. The successor to the ensemble was the classical music group OPUS, which was revived in 2013. With 13 permanent members, the chamber ensemble's repertoire covers sacred and secular choral literature and related chamber music, from Renaissance madrigals and motets to 20th century and modern works. The programme of concerts is tailored to the theme and venue of the concert.

Their first major tour abroad was to Finland in 2014. In addition to their performances in Veszprém and the surrounding area (Veszprém County, Balaton Highlands), they gave several concerts in Austria in 2019. In addition to concert performances, OPUS considers it its mission to perform traditional church music at the highest artistic level in liturgical settings. Since 2017, the artistic director of the OPUS Choir and Chamber Ensemble has been Péter Kővári, organist and choirmaster. He has shaped the ensemble along the artistic ideas formulated in his Ars Poetica, with particular emphasis on a homogeneous and balanced vocal sound and its supple, contemporary instrumental accompaniment. The 12 chamber singers (mainly non-music majors but trained singers) perform their sacrificial work on a voluntary basis, taking part in regular weekly rehearsals, other rehearsals, liturgical services and concerts. In 2020 they have been invited to Estonia (Tallinn, Tartu) and Finland (Helsinki, Oulu, Rovianemi). In Veszprém County, in the region (Bakony, Balaton Highlands), the ensemble plays a prominent role in the quality of vocal chamber music, as a guide for similar formations, choirs, vocal ensembles and audiences. In addition to their regional performances, in 2019 they were invited to the Klagenfurt Cathedral and the Salzburg Cathedral, among others, and produced new YouTube videos, enhancing the reputation of Veszprém and the Balaton-Felvidék region in preparation for the "Veszprém-Balaton EKF 2023".

Members of the Opus Choral Ensemble:

Soprano: Katalin Bartl Almásyné, Eszter Laár Kissné, Erzsébet Sasvári Sörösné

Alto: Dr. Melinda M-Tóth, Katalin Somfai, Judit Baradits

Tenor: Dr. András Szoboszlai, Nándor Nagy, Gergely Soltész

Bass: Ákos Baradits, Gyula Kiss, Ferenc Speiser

Conductor: Péter Kővári